A whole new outlook

I am at a point in my life where I’m learning more about myself than ever. After I had my daughter I underwent major changes not only in how I felt emotionally and physically, but how I viewed the world around me as a whole. Now nearly 14 months later I’ve reached such a fantastic point in my life where I’m happy and grateful on a daily basis. (4 years ago I sat in chaos.) With all this change came knowledge, and once I reached a certain point I couldn’t turn back.

On May 4th I watched a documentary called ‘Peaceable Kingdom‘ which sparked me to watch another, ‘Vegecated.’ Now for those of you who know what those are about, you’ll know that this probably qued a large change in my diet. However for those of you who aren’t familiar with these documentaries I’ll give you a quick run down. (You can click the links and read more.) In short they are about the world of raising animals for consumption and in turn changing your eating habits so as to not take part in this process. I would definitely recommend both these films coupled with ‘I Am.’ Seeing so many animals in pain and emotional distress for the majority of their lives was just so heart breaking. Not only was I outraged that humans could do this to another living being, something inside me just snapped. The decision to be a Vegetarian came so quickly and so easily that I knew there was no questioning it. That evening and the next few days following I hit the books hard researching cooking substitutions and recipes. I hope to eventually go vegan 🙂

Now before you stray away thinking I’m going to start protesting and shaming you for your decisions, please know that I am making this decision for myself. I am a girl who grew up eating a meat and potatoes based diet. I’ve always found it difficult to shy away from animal products mostly because a lot of it had been my comfort food but also because it’s just always been ‘the norm’ to eat it without question. At this point in time it just made sense to me to become vegetarian. I am continuously educating myself on what goes in and on my body as well as my family’s.

So as Maya Angelou says, “Do the best you can until you know better. Then when you know better, do better.”

Leave a Reply

