Toddler Approved Play Sand

Play Sand (Also known as Cloud Dough)

Cloud Dough up close

I’ve been on the hunt for activities to keep my oldest busy during the days she’s home. I think I found a good one! First she used her mini kitchen tools to make food, fried up some ‘eggies’ in her frying pan, stepped on it, made sand castles, and now she is currently using her Case tractors to load, push, and dump it in different locations.

Not only is it super easy to make, the clean up is pretty simple, though I don’t suggest letting them use it on any fancy carpet or rugs since one of the main ingredients is oil.

Cloud Dough playing2

When I mixed it all up I only added half the ingredients the recipe called for. Next time I’ll definitely use the full recipe. I tried to add food coloring to it after I started mixing – yeah it didn’t really take. You’ll want to mix the coloring into the oil before you add it to the flour. My coloring process made for a bit of a marble-like look but nothing solid. Feel free to add some glitter or confetti to the recipe to make it more interesting as well.

Enjoy!

Cloud Dough playing

You will need:

Food coloring (optional)
1 Cup Vegetable Oil (I used Olive Oil and it worked great)
4 Cups All Purpose Flour
Medium-Large bin for play and storage (think Rubbermaid)

If you are using color, add it into your oil before adding it to the flour. When you have everything measured out it’s just a matter of mixing it up until you get a sand like consistency. It should hold together when squeezed in your hand, and then crumble at your fingertips.

Happy mixing!

 

Edited: It can be a pain in the butt to clean if you get it on certain surfaces. Those mats are foam and were a huge inconvenience to have to soak, scrub, and wipe down. Definitely buying a larger storage bin for her to play with it in.

Leave a Reply

