Sweet Potato Veggie Lasagna

Healthy Lasagna

I was a little hesitant to put sweet potato in a lasagna but I was very pleasantly surprised! Now let me start by saying I found the recipe on Pinterest, however I modified it slightly and loved it.

As far as the veggie base goes you can really add just about anything to make it good and hearty. In this household broccoli is a must, and since it’s one of the only things my toddler will eat currently we also put a whole can of corn in. I’m sure I could have used a healthier type of noodle, but I just used the Our Compliments Oven Ready ones. Quick and easy – exactly what I need as a new mom of two. I don’t have time to fight with noodles, I still have to try and convince my three year old to eat her supper.

Our Compliments Lasagna Noodles

To ensure it was nice and soft, I threw my broccoli florets into the steamer for about 3 minutes until they were a beautiful bright green and then added them into the veggie mixture.

Without further ado here is the recipe. I hope you enjoy it as much as we did. Even Shawn loved it (“Best lasagne I’ve ever had”).

 

INGREDIENTS

2 Small onions, diced

2 Cloves of garlic, diced

1-1.5 Cups of mushrooms, chopped

1 Head of broccoli, cut into small bite size florets (I’m a bit of a broccoli fiend so feel free to adjust the amount.)

2 Sweet Potatoes, cooked and mashed

1 Large carrot, shredded

1 Large pepper, chopped (color is your preference)

1 Can of corn, rinsed

2 Tbsp Oregano

1 Tsp Onion powder

1 Tbsp Basil

1 Cup baby spinach

1 Jar of pasta sauce

2 Cups (approx) Shredded cheese

1 Box of oven ready lasagna noodles

9″x 13″ Casserole Dish

Preheat oven to 400° F. Place onions and garlic in a skillet on medium heat for about 3-5 minutes, until onions are soft and slightly transparent. Add in mushrooms and heat for another 3-5 minutes. Add in broccoli, shredded carrot, peppers, and corn stirring occasionally. After about 5 minutes add in the spices and mix well.

Time to layer!

Cover the bottom of your casserole dish with sauce and put down a layer of noodles. Top the noodles with a little more sauce and then a thick layer of the vegetable mixture. Next is the baby spinach and a generous helping of cheese. Another layer of noodles, then sauce, and then the rest of your veggie mixture. Load on the sweet potato, covered with some sauce and then topped with noodles. Put the remaining sauce on the top and then another generous layer of cheese.

Cover with foil and pop it in the oven for 40 minutes.

voilà!

Sweet Potato Veggie Lasagna

Feel free to share!

 

Leave a Reply

